Bachelor of Science in Radiologic Sciences with Major in Nuclear Medicine Technology

Augusta University
Degree Level Bachelors
Total Credit Hours 128

Program Description

A nuclear medicine technologist works closely with diagnostic imaging physicians to diagnose and treat disease. Nuclear medicine combines aspects of chemistry, physics, mathematics, computer science, and patient care to provide the physician with information about both, the structure (anatomy) and function (physiology), of every major organ system within the human body.

The Nuclear Medicine Technology B.S.R.S. degree program is a 2+2 transfer program. Sixty (60) credit hours of freshman and sophomore core courses are completed at the college of choice, after which the applicant applies to transfer to Augusta University for the N.M.T. professional component during the junior and senior years.

The programs are flexible to accommodate busy lifestyles. Clinical affiliates are located in Augusta, Athens, Atlanta, Gainesville, and Columbus, Georgia.

Academic course work and clinical attendance require 40 hours per week, regardless of locale.

BS completion programs will require the same 60 credit hours of core course prerequisites that the 2+2 BSRS degree program requires, although the program will give you credit for some of your NMT experiences and training.

The programs offer both a resident student and a distance learning on-line student experience. However, the laboratory and seminar components of the curriculum require all students to attend the campus 4 x per semester, so distance learning students will have to make appropriate travel arrangements to attend the laboratories and seminars.

More information can be found at:

Admissions Information

State Authorization and Professional Licensure Disclaimer

Not all programs are available to residents in all states. Please check the institution's State Authorization and Professional Licensure website(s) to ensure you reside in an authorized state.

Program Accreditation

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology